Photos: PBE Media

The annual 37th Hong Kong Film Awards ceremony took place in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre last night (Apr 15) to honour exemplary works in the Hong Kong movie industry over the past year. The ceremony was hosted by Hong Kong singer-actress Charlene Choi and Hong Kong songwriter Louis Cheung.

During the ceremony, Hong Kong actor Louis Koo bagged his first Best Actor Award from the Hong Kong Film Awards with 2017 crime film Paradox, where he a played a father who is trying to find his missing daughter in Thailand.

This is the third best actor nod the 48-year-old actor received for his performance in Paradox, having previously won the prestigious title at the Asian Film Awards held on March 17 and the Hong Kong Film Directors’ Guild Awards held on March 18.

Hong Kong actress Teresa Mo bagged the Best Actress Award for her female leading role in romance film Tomorrow is Another Day. As the movie has yet to air in the mainland, her win came as a surprise to many.

History film Our Time Will Come walked away with the most awards from the night, securing a total of five accolades under its belt - Best Director, Best Film, Best Supporting Actress, Best Art Direction and Best Original Film Score award. Most notably, critically acclaimed film director, Ann Hui, picked up her sixth best director award for her work in the project.

Besides the award winners, renowned entertainers from Hong Kong showbiz also graced the event, including Hong Kong actors Jackie Chan and Jordan Chan, ‘Heavenly King’ Andy Lau, and Chinese actress Vicki Zhao to name a few.

Check out the full list of award winners below.

Click for more pictures!

37th Hong Kong Film Awards Winners List:

1. Best Film: Our Time Will Come
2. Best Director: Ann Hui (Our Time Will Come)
3. Best Screenplay: Sylvia Chang, Xiaoying You (Love Education)
4. Best Actor: Louis Koo (Paradox)
5. Best Actress: Teresa Mo (Tomorrow is Another Day)
6. Best Supporting Actor: Philip Keung (Shock Wave)
7. Best Supporting Actress: Deanie Ip (Our Time Will Come)
8. Best Film Editing: Li Ka Wing (Chasing the Dragon)
9. Best Cinematography: Jason Kwan (Chasing the Dragon)
10. Best New Performer: Ling Man-Lung (Tomorrow is Another Day)
11. Best Art Direction: Billy Li, Lim Chung Man (Our Time Will Come)
12. Best Costume and Make Up Design: Bruce Yu Ka-On, Lee Pik Kwan (Journey to the West: Conquering the Demons
13. Best Action Choreography: Sammo Hung (Paradox)
14. Best Original Film Score: Joe Hisashi (Our Time Will Come)
15. Best Original Film Song: An Unheard Melody (Concerto of the Bully)
16. Best Sound Design: George Lee Yiu-Keung, Kinson Tsang (Paradox)
17. Best Visual Effects: Eric Xu, Henry Wong (Wu Kong)
18. Best New Director: Kearen Pang (29+1)
19. Best Film of Mainland and Taiwan: The Great Buddha+
20. Professional Achievement Award: Pauline Yeung Yung-Lin
21. Lifetime Achievement Award: Chor Yuen

Richie Jen: Louis Koo is the best actor in my heart
Louis Koo wins another Best Actor award
Louis Koo recovering well following eye injury