Skip to main content

Henry Golding, Steven Yeun, Youn Yuh-Jung Among 395 New Members Invited To Join Oscars Body

As members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, they will be eligible to vote in the Oscars.

Henry Golding, Steven Yeun, Youn Yuh-Jung Among 395 New Members Invited To Join Oscars Body

Henry Golding, and Minari stars Steven Yeun and Youn Yuh-Jung are among the 395 artists and executives invited to be members of the Academy of the Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the group behind the Oscars.

This year’s inductees are made up of 46 per cent female and 39 per cent from under-represented ethnic/racial communities. Of the 395 invites, 89 are former Oscar nominees, including 25 winners. Fifty-three per cent of the names are from 49 countries outside the US.

Other invitees include Robert Pattinson, Vanessa Kirby, Han Ye-ri and Hongkong’s Derek Tsang, the director of Better Days, which was up for Best International Feature Film at this year’s Oscars.

The number of invitees is down from last year’s batch of 819, a number in line with the expansion of Academy membership put in place over the past five years in order to bring in more diversity and increase the numbers of women and underrepresented artists.

“To enable steady future growth and to ensure the necessary infrastructure, staff resources and environment to support all Academy members, the number invited to membership was limited to roughly half that of recent years,” the Academy said in a statement (per Deadline).

Once the new additions accept the invites, they will be part of the 9,750-strong group of Oscar voters.

According to the Academy website, membership “is limited to film artist working in the production of theatrically-released motion pictures. The Academy has 17 branches, for the crafting ranging from Actors to Writers, and two categories, Members-at-Large and Associates to accommodate individual who work in motion picture production but do not fit into one of the branches.”

Applicants must be sponsored by two Academy members representing their branch. Oscar winners and nominees are automatically considered for membership and don't need sponsors.

In 2018, Singaporean actor Chin Han and documentarian Tan Pin Pin were invited to join Academy.

For the complete list of the 2021 invitees, click here.

Photos: TPG News/Click Photos

Want More? Check These Out

You May Also Like